Welcome to Two Chicks on Books!!!

Thanks for stopping by! I'm here to share all things Bookish and also news about Movies, TV Shows, and even Video Games I love! I love to read your comments :)

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Blog Tour- THE HEARTS WE SOLD by Emily Lloyd-Jones A Playlist & Giveaway!


Hey everyone! I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the blog tour for THE HEARTS WE SOLD by Emily Lloyd-Jones! 

I have Emily's book playlist to share with you today! And make sure to enter the giveaway below!


Haven't heard of THE HEARTS WE SOLD? Check it out!



Title: THE HEARTS WE SOLD 
Author: Emily Lloyd-Jones
Pub. Date: August 8, 2017
Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook
Find it: AmazonB&NiBooksTBDGoodreads
When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.

With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In THE HEARTS WE SOLD, author Lloyd-Jones returns with a complex, thought-provoking Faustian tale for the modern age that will capture your heart. With horror elements and fantasy elements set in a recognizable, semirealistic world, THE HEARTS WE SOLD is a great fit for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black. The book also
features a diverse breadth of topics, ranging from sexuality, transgender transitions, race, and familial abuse.

“Readers will devour this romantic, Faustian fable. A dark fantasy brimming with passion and peril.” -Kirkus Reviews

Now on to the playlist!

Playlist for The Hearts We Sold
         
One of my favorite things to do is create playlists. I can spend hours puttering around in iTunes and it counts as writing? Right? Right?

Well, even if it’s technically not writing, it’s still part of my process. Music helps me get into the mindset of certain settings or characters. I’ve been known to put the same song on repeat for hours while working on a single sceneI think my record was 240 times on a single song. It’s probably a good thing I don’t have roommates.

When I began sketching out the plot for THE HEARTS WE SOLD, I admit my first impulse was to fill the playlist with songs like “Heartless” or “Heartbreak Hotel.” What if I could create an entire playlist with nothing but songs with “heart” in the title, I thought gleefully. But I ended up restraining myself to only two.

The songs in this particular book’s playlist contain many of my personal favorites. I wanted the songs to celebrate life, while at the same time, acknowledge how difficult growing up can be. It’s a playlist about transition, which I think is one of the main themes of the book.

So, without further ado, here is the playlist for THE HEARTS WE SOLD! I hope you enjoy both the music and the book!

“Pumpin Blood” NONONO
“Alive” Sia
“Gold” Sir Sly
“W.D.Y.W.F.M.?” The Neighbourhood
“Colors, pt. II” Halsey
“Youth” White Apple Tree
“Run” Daughter
“Tonight You’re Perfect” New Politics
“Anna Sun” WALK THE MOON
“Heart Out” The 1975
“Love” American Authors
“Beating Heart” Ellie Goulding

“Wonderful Life” Hurts


About Emily:
Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.


Giveaway Details:


3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE HEARTS WE SOLD, US Only.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Tour Schedule:
Week One:
8/7/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt
8/8/2017- When Books Defy GravityReview
8/9/2017- YA Books CentralInterview
8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great ReadReview
8/11/2017- Angelic Book ReviewsInterview

Week Two:
8/14/2017- The Layaway DragonReview
8/15/2017- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post
8/16/2017- Book BriefsReview
8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview
8/18/2017- Stories & SweetiesReview


2 comments:

  1. With no heart, I'm interested in seeing how this works. Thank you.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oooh making contracts with supernatural beings sounds awesome!
    Samantha D

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...