Welcome to Two Chicks on Books!!!

Thanks for stopping by! I'm here to share all things Bookish and also news about Movies, TV Shows, and even Video Games I love! I love to read your comments :)

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Blog Tour- SCREAM ALL NIGHT by Derek Milman An Excerpt & Giveaway!


Hey everyone! I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the blog tour for  SCREAM ALL NIGHT by Derek Milman! 

I have an excerpt to share with you today! And make sure to enter the giveaway below!


Haven't heard of  SCREAM ALL NIGHT? Check it out!




Author: Derek Milman
Pub. Date: July 24, 2018
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook
Pages: 400
Find it: GoodreadsAmazonAudibleB&NiBooksTBD
A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors.

Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavia’s creature features.

But then Dario’s brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first film—The Curse of the Mummy’s Tongue. Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his past—and reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar of Zombie Children of the Harvest Sun, a production fraught with real-life tragedy—and say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happens—Dario gets sucked back into the twisted world of Moldavia and the horrors, both real and imagined, he’s left there.

With only months to rescue the sinking studio and everyone who has built their lives there, Dario must confront the demons of his past—and the uncertainties of his future. But can he escape the place that’s haunted him his whole life?

Now on to the excerpt!

Chapter 1: Return to Moldavia
Slightly before dinner, Keenan House, the group home where I live, gets a call that my homosexual exorcism is scheduled to take place next Thursday at four.
“But I’m not homosexual. And I’m not possessed,” I say to Len, my counselor.
“You sure?” says Len. He cracks open a PBR and takes a long, gurgling sip.
“Bet you’re both,” says my roommate, Jude, lacing up his boxing gloves.
“Actually,” says Len, belching, softly punching his gut, “I think it’s your brother calling.”
Oren. Of course.
Late-afternoon sunlight smears across the cinder-block walls through broken, yellowed blinds. I throw down my graphic novel, which I was actually half enjoying, and roll out of my sagging lower bunk with a groan. I walk down the hall and grab the phone.
“Why are you calling me?”
“’Cause I know you have lots of homo demons inside you,” says Oren, stifling one of his loud, chirpy laughs. “And I thought maybe it was time for a devil cleanse.”
“Uh-huh.” I hear projected voices in the backgroundlike announcements on a PA or something. Where are you?
“Hospital.”
“What?”
“We’re burying Dad next week. Funeral is Thursday.”
“Dad died?”
“No, no.”
My dad has been slowly dying for forty years. Emphysema, hairy cell leukemia, diabetes, arthritis; it’s like he just went shopping one day for chronic diseases and never made any returns. More recently, he’s been sliding into dementia.
Thing is, this might really be it. The doctors are pretty sure. “He has two weeks max,” says Oren.
“Shit.” I bite my thumbnailan old nervous habit instantaneously reborn. Im suddenly terrified that my family, who I was legally emancipated from three years ago, might be planning something deeply, morbidly insane. But its not as bad as all that.
Just a live funeral.
“A what?” The phone slips out of my hands. I juggle it back to my ear.

“Dad’s final wish was to be buried alive,” says Oren.



About Derek:
Derek Milman was born in New York City, but grew up in Westchester, NY, where he wrote and published a successful underground humor magazine that caught the attention of the New York Times, who wrote a profile on him at the age of 14.

Derek studied English, Creative Writing, and Theater at Northwestern University. He began his career as a playwright (his first play was staged in New York City when he was just out of college), and earned an MFA in acting at the Yale School of Drama.

Derek has performed on stages across the country, and appeared in numerous TV shows and films, working with two Academy Award winning film directors.

Scream All Night is Derek's debut YA novel. He currently lives in Brooklyn where he is hard at work on his next book.



Giveaway Details:


1 winner will win a signed finished copy of SCREAM ALL NIGHT & swag, US Only.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Tour Schedule:

Week One:
7/16/2018- Sweet Southern HomeExcerpt
7/16/2018- YA Books CentralInterview

7/17/2018- BookHounds YAGuest Post
7/17/2018- Always MeExcerpt

7/18/2018- A Dream Within A DreamReview
7/18/2018- Wonder StruckReview

7/19/2018- Confessions of a YA ReaderReview
7/19/2018- Moonlight RendezvousReview

7/20/2018- Kat’s BooksReview
7/20/2018- RhythmicbooktrovertReview

Week Two:
7/23/2018- The Clever ReaderReview
7/23/2018- Smada's Book SmackReview

7/24/2018- Lisa Loves LiteratureInterview
7/24/2018- THE BOOK NUTReview

7/25/2018- A Gingerly ReviewReview
7/25/2018- Two Chicks on BooksExcerpt

7/26/2018- Daily WaffleInterview
7/26/2018- Don't Judge, ReadInterview

7/27/2018- Two Points of Interest- Spotlight
7/27/2018- Book-KeepingReview

1 comment:

  1. This sounds like a great book! It definitely sounds unique. Thanks for hosting!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...