Welcome to Two Chicks on Books!!!

Thanks for stopping by! I'm here to share all things Bookish and also news about Movies, TV Shows, and even Video Games I love! I love to read your comments :)

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Blog Tour- MEET THE SEEKERS by Arwen Elys Dayton and a Giveaway!


Hey y'all! I'm excited to get to introduce you to Maud from Arwen Elys Dayton's SEEKER! She's one of my favorite ccharactersin the book. Oh and stick around for the giveaway!

Haven't heard of SEEKER? Check it out!



Title: SEEKER
Author: Arwen Elys Dayton
Pub. Date: February 10, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 448
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook


Their Legacy is…A calling. An Honor. A lie.
#SeekerSeries

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.

As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.

And she’ll be with the boy she loves—who is also her best friend.

But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.

Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

And now it’s too late to walk away.

Seeker Reviews

“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.” —School Library Journal

“[A] powerful beginning to a complex family saga . . . Dayton excels at creating memorable characters.” —Publishers Weekly


“A tightly woven, action-packed story of survival and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.” —Tahereh Mafi, author of the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series                                                                                                                               “Secrets, danger, and romance meet in this unforgettable epic fantasy.” —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable





Now on to the introduction! 


The Young Dread, Maud

Her body was slender to the point of looking underfed, but her muscles told a different story. They were like delicate ropes of steel holding together her small frame.


 No one seems to know for sure, but Maud is perhaps fourteen years old. With unremarkable brown hair and light brown eyes, she could be any ordinary girl at first glance.

But Maud is a fighter so skilled, she bends the rules of space and time. She observes, then acts only when necessary. She may put too much faith in the rules she was taught as a child, but she does so for what she sees as the greater good.

If met in a dark alley, Maud might be one’s salvation or one’s end. On the surface, she shows little emotion about such life-or-death choices—her face betrays nothing—yet her feelings are there, buried deep, and her allegiances will be tested.

[EXCERPT FROM SEEKER]

          From where they lay, they could see a figure emerging from deeper in the woods, heading toward them. John pulled Quin up, hiding them from view behind the branches. They watched as the figure got close enough to identify. It was the Young Dread, with a string of dead rabbits slung over her shoulder.
          From the look of her face, they had figured her age at about fourteen, though of course, with the Dreads, age was a tricky thing. . . .
          She walked toward them with the strange gait shared by both Dreads . . . as steady and fluid as a marble sculpture brought to life.
          “Watch this,” Quin whispered, so softly that John could barely hear her, though his head was still only inches from hers. Silently, she pulled her knife from her waistband. She waited until the Dread had walked into a patch of sunlight that would make her momentarily blind to motion in the shadows. Then Quin drew back her arm and threw the knife at the Young Dread as hard as she could.
The blade arced through the shadows expertly, aimed just ahead of where the Dread was walking, so she would carry herself straight into its path and it would impale the side of her head.
          Yet that was not what happened.
          The Young Dread continued her steady approach until the weapon was almost upon her. Then her whole body exploded into action. Her right arm whipped forward and caught the knife out of the air. She spun around so quickly, she almost appeared to blur against the forest backdrop, and she released the blade back toward them much like a thundercloud releases a bolt of lightning. It was propelled at such high speed that they could hear it whistling through the air, and both John and Quin ducked.
          It made a perfect arc from the Dread, around the edge of the cluster of trees, and buried itself up to the hilt just inches from where Quin’s hand still rested against the tree trunk. The vibration of its impact traveled all the way down the tree, and John could feel it in his feet.

Meet Fiona Kincaid tomorrow at A Book and A Latte!





About Arwen:
Arwen Elys Dayton spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid (which she explored by a single fading flashlight when researching Resurrection), Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland. She enjoys creating complete worlds inhabited by characters who charm, frustrate or inspire.
Arwen lives with her husband and their three children on the West Coast of the United States. You can follow her @arwenelysdayton on Twitter and Instagram.





Giveaway Details: 1 Winner.
1 winner will receive an ARC of SEEKER, US only.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Check out the Tour Schedule for more awesome posts!

1/12/2015- IceyBooksCharacter Profile
1/13/2015- Fire and IceCharacter Profile
1/14/2015- NerdophilesCharacter Profile
1/15/2015- Two Chicks on BooksCharacter Profile
1/16/2015- A Book and a LatteCharacter Profile





8 comments:

  1. Wow! This book sounds amazing and I have to read it. It's going on the top of my list. Keeping my fingers crossed to win. Thanks for the excerpt and giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  2. OO: OMG Im dying for read this book!! I hope win

    ReplyDelete
  3. I just got approved for an e-ARC of this on NetGalley and I'm so excited to start it! It's like all my favorite things rolled into one book! Glad you loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds awesome! Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Def excited to read this now! :D
    Mary G Loki

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love the Watcher/Guardian attitude of Maude. The Book sounds very exciting to read.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds really interesting. Thank you for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...