Welcome to Two Chicks on Books!!!

Thanks for stopping by! I'm here to share all things Bookish and also news about Movies, TV Shows, and even Video Games I love! I love to read your comments :)

Current Posts

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Review- The Ward by Jordana Frankel


The Ward
Jordana Frankel
Hardcover: 384 pages
Release Date: April 30, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (Harper)
ISBN: 006209534X
Source: ARC From the Publisher
Rating: Kinda Liked
From Goodreads.


Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

This book was good but, it could have been great! The cover is absolutely gorgeous and yes I did judge the book by the cover and by the blurb which from that it sounds awesome! I was really, really looking forward to reading this one and I was kind of let down. And while it didn't live up to all of my hopes I will be reading the next one.

One thing that bothered me was the racing scenes. I am a HUGE racing fan but the overly worded and overly descriptive racing scenes left me scratching my head. They were just too much and would have been better if they had been toned down.

Also I liked the MC Ren, but sometimes her language bothered me; it was like one minute she said words like "ain't" and then she would say "bum" or "smarted" like she couldn't choose whether she was a Brit or a street kid.

And I didn't like the love interest at all! I'm hoping she'll get wise and end up with the doctor.

I did like the story idea though and if you're a fan of Dystopian/Sci-Fi you'll probably find it an enjoyable read if you can get pass the overly descriptive scenes.

I didn’t choose a passage to share since I didn’t use a single post-it (which is strange for me) in this book.

5 comments:

  1. I know what you mean. This book had so much potential and yet . . . it just didn't give me want I wanted. But yeah, like you I didn't mind the MC but the love interest was NOT what I expected. Didn't like him at all.

    Anyway great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That sucks I wanted this book to be really awesome! I'll still be reading it, but now I know what to look out for. Great review Jaime :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hmmm, the synopsis of this one doesn't really grab me and with your review I think I will pass.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The cover looks so awesome! But the description sounds a bit unusual. Not sure why a mobile racer would be chosen for some kind of government assignment that doesn't have anything to do with racing. Feels a bit random.

    And what you said about Ren's language is something that drives me crazy in books. One of my peeves. Pick a way of communicating and stick with it. I think I'll wait to hear what you say about book 2 before I decide if this is for me. While I loved Death Race the film, not sure a story with a racing character would grab, especially if, as you mentioned, there are a lot of descriptives about it.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Now Hiring Home Workers Worldwide (11542)

    Earn up to $250 per day working from home
    Companies now hiring worldwide in positions such as typing,
    data entry, writing and more. For more information
    visit (http://www.eazy2earn.com )

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...